2 Comments

OPENING NIGHT OF THE METROPOLITAN OPERA 2012-2013 SEASON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It’s been a long summer, but we’ve finally got here. Metropolitan Opera Opening Night for the 2012-2013 season, and I couldn’t be more excited!

Tonight’s opening performance is a new production of Donizetti’s treasured comedy, L’Elisir D’Amore, directed by Bart Sher. The production stars Anna Netrebko as Adina, who is singing the complete role for the first time at the Met tonight, Matthew Polenzani as Nemorino and Ambrogio Maestri as Dr. Dulcamara, along with Mariusz Kweicien as Belcore. Anne Carolyn Bird sings Giannetta(The Met just tweeted me that:-D). Bel canto champion Maurizio Benini conducts.

Now I’ll be honest with you when I say that Elisir is probably my least favorite opera. I think it was spoiled for me when I watch that awful Munich livestream production of their Elisir that kind of soured me. Also, there’s just something about the way the plot and the music come together that I’m just not a fan of, but I’m excited to give it another listening tonight. After all, a new season means a new beginning! However, this seems like an odd choice for opening night. The word that describes this opera for me is “quaint”. Opening night is certainly far from that.

For some reason, I found this scary.

As is a tradition I started last year, I’m going to live blog opening night. That means, I’ll be blogging right before, during intermission, then a wrap-up and review once the performance is finished. I’ll be live tweeting throughout the performance.

If you’re like me, you won’t be in the house to see the performance live, but there are many ways you can catch the action from home:

  1. The Metopera website has a livestream that lets you listen right over the computer. That’s the system I’ll be using, and it works great.
  2. The Metopera channel on Sirius Radio(This was such a good investment!)will also be broadcasting opening night over the airwaves.

Both the Metopera website livestream and Sirius radio start at 6:30 with a half hour pre-show(Which is very fun to listen to!) before the show gets underway.

If you happen to be in New York City for Opening Night, you can watch the performance live both in Times Square, and in Lincoln Center in front of the Met. Both services are free.

Here is a press release from the Met, about tonight’s performance and if you like to follow along with a libretto, I found a site that gives libretti for free for many obscure operas. While the translation may not be perfect, it’s a good resource to get the jist of it. You can find L’Elisir D’Amore in the list.

Finally, some of my near and dear opera friends will be live chatting during the performance, and I’ll most likely join the conversation too. Be a part of the fun here.

Alright… We have all our opera ducks in a row, and it looks like a beautiful night here in New York. Let’s get this show on the road and I’ll see you right before the performance!

P.S. Don’t forget to read my Met season predictions, Parts 1, 2, 3,and 4.

P.P.S. My grandmother just went to the hospital so any prayers or good vibes you can send my way would be very appreciated. Thanks. 🙂

2 comments on “OPENING NIGHT OF THE METROPOLITAN OPERA 2012-2013 SEASON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. I long for the day when opening night at the Met will include great operas like Pfitzner’s “Palestrina”, Schoenberg’s “Moses and Aron” or Hindemith’s “Mathis der Maler”

Tell me what you think!

