3 Comments

It’s Time to Play the Music, It’s Time to light the Lights: The Muppet Show/Sesame Street Opera Master Post

The classic children’s shows Sesame Street and The Muppet Show have been on for years! Fortunately, opera has played a good part in shaping young children’s minds into a generation of successful learners and classical music appreciators. Famous opera stars have appeared on these programs over the years in some EXTREMELY famous pieces(C is for Cookie with Marilyn Horne) and some not-so-common ones(Beverly Sills on The Muppet Show. It came as a pleasant surprise to me…) These clips are appreciated by audiences young and old, so I decided to compile a master post of all operatic happenings on Sesame Street and The Muppet Show. There were a lot so if you think I messed one, please tell me in the comments. Please enjoy, and remember, cookie, cookie, cookie starts with C.

We have to start with Marilyn Horne singing “C is for Cookie”. This song comes ingrained in your head at birth and I remember watching this when I was young, having no idea that it had anything to do with opera. Good luck not singing along. It’s actually like the fourth suggestion when you type “Marilyn Horne” in on YouTube… You decide if that’s good or not.

The next clip is Renee Fleming, singing how to count to 5 to the tune of Caro Nome. This is a personal favorite.

Next is a series of three clips from the second season of The Muppet Show, with the guest star, Beverly Sills. I decided to give you all the entire episode, because who doesn’t love the Muppets? and I didn’t want to miss any Beverly action in shorter clips. This is actually hysterical. Gotta love Beverly.

Next, we have Samuel Ramey, singing the Toreador Song from Carmen about the letter “L”. Enjoy!

Here we have one of the few “Placido Flamingo” clips available online. This is a spinoff of Placido Domingo and I’m 99% sure is sung by him… You decide!

Now a VERY short clip of Gonzo smashing a car to the Anvil Chorus.

‘La Ci Darem La Mano’ with Mrs. Piggy and some other added opera humor only people as awesome as the online opera community can understand.

MRS. PIGGY AND PLACIDO DOMINGO DUET!!!

William Tell overture clucked by chickens from the Muppets Take Manhattan. Gonzo is serious about his opera… Sort of…

 

These were all the clips I could find, but I hope you enjoyed the clips and it brought back a few memories!

3 comments on “It’s Time to Play the Music, It’s Time to light the Lights: The Muppet Show/Sesame Street Opera Master Post

  1. These clips are just wonderful! Some of them I remembered – particularly Beverly Sills on the Muppet Show – but others I didn’t even know about! Thanks! 🙂

  2. Thank you for a great post! I’ve been wondering for a long time if ever Pavarotti was a guest in Muppet Show or Sesame Street? I’ve tried to find it out, but without any conclusive results. Think I’ve seen a picture of Pavarotti together with Big Bird (?) from Sesame Street (?), but I can’t find it! Do you (or anybody else) know something about that?

  3. You just made my day…the Beverly Sills episode is hysterical!!…my face hurts from laughing.

Tell me what you think!

