Leave a comment

Opening Night at The Metropolitan Opera!!

I know I’m not alone when I say I anticipate this day all year. It’s opening night at the Met!! Even more exciting, we are hearing the premiere of Anna Bolena! With Anna Netrebko! I know that Anna Bolena is not standard repetoire, but seriously, the Met shows random production all the time but they are just now premiering Bolena? Bolena has premiered all over the world, so it surprises me that they are just showing it now. And I couldn’t be happier.

You cant recreate a diva. You can’t just snap your fingers and watch one appear. As much as we wish we could, we can’t remake Maria Callas.A diva is not just one person. A diva is/was Maria Callas, Renata Tebaldi, Karita Mattila, Joan Sutherland, and finally, Anna Netrebko. I LOVE Anna Netrebko. You may hear a lot of bias about her here but in my opinion, she is the greatest modern, living diva in the world. (Yes Maria, you were the definition of diva…) Let’s make one ore thing clear, I don’t like Angela Gheorghiu. She seems to think she is the reincarnation of Callas. Canceling performances doesn’t make you “cooler”. (Except Maria Callas is exempt from this list.) We’ll go into all of the issues I have with her at another, less “happy” occasion.

Tonight is a gift from the operatic Gods. Even thought my favorite mezzo, Elina Garanca won’t be able to perform since she is having a baby, I was happy to hear she was being replaced with Ekaterina Gubanova, and not Gheorghiu. (Since the Carmen at the Met incident, apparently she thinks she is a mezzo also…) But I heard Gubanova as Giulietta in Contes D’Hoffman and I really liked her. She seems like the right choice. Ildar Abdrazakov could play Mimi and it would be the right choice. Is he my favorite? No. Do I like him? No. I think he is incredible. I’m happy to hear he is playing that scumbag Henry VIII. Truth be told, I have never heard of Stephen Costello… so no comment there. But I am excited to hear him.

Now you may be asking, will I be attending Opening Night? The answer is no. I don’t have that kind of money! But, I am at home, cloistered in my room next to my Sirius Radio, looking like I have no power and there is a hurricane going on. I’m like a storm chaser, but with less involvement… I may be a tad lazy sometimes… But yeah, I’ll be holding vigil next to my radio tonight, hanging on to every word/note that I can hear. I will be keeping you all updated as the night transpires. Happy listening!!!

P.S. I posted a website with the libretto and translation for Anna Bolena. If you didn’t know, the translations are impossible to find.

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/evwool/page4.html

P.P.S. Here is the link to the Metropolitan Opera’s website portion about Anna Bolena.

http://www.metoperafamily.org/opera/anna-bolena-donizetti-tickets.aspx

Tell me what you think!

