Leave a comment

Maria Guleghina Can Play Anyone!

Maria Guleghina isn’t my favorite soprano, but she is right up there. She can play Turandot, and Abigaille. Tosca and Norma. That woman has one heck of a versatile voice. I think she performed spectacularly. I would like to see her live sometime soon, but not before I see Anna Netrebko. (DYING to see Manon this season)

The rest of the cast was wonderful as well. The chorus was perfect. Va pensiero pushed me to the verge of tears. It was so well sung. I prefer choruses that sound like many beautiful voices, together in song. Not like some massive person thing like in the Honda Prius commercial.(If you’ve seen it, you know what I’m talking about) This was multiple beautiful voices, expressing a sentiment of freedom. I don’t know if there was an encore because my computer got confused at “Oh, mia patria” which left me hanging for a few seconds. Luckily, I switched to my radio and heard the end of what I think wasn’t an encore…

I wasn’t particularly interested in the other lead performers because everybody did really well. (Even though, I thought Fenena had a soar throat…) I loved Nabucco though. Happy listening and enjoy the end of Nabucco!!!

Opera Teen

Tell me what you think!

