Leave a comment

Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving my loyal subjects ;). Just kidding. I’m thankful for you this year. I appreciate everyone who takes time out of their day to be a part of my life. Thank you.

There’s much to be thankful about in opera this year, so I’ll name three of the things I’m most thankful for.

1. Anna Bolena at The Met

I am thankful for Anna Bolena this year. It was a Met premiere, it sets the trail and standard for the upcoming Queen Operas (Maria Stuarda, Roberto Devereux) at the Met. The Ring Cycle is the only big Met “series” that’s been happening in awhile. Now, we have a new series of Italian operas that will most likely define the Met in coming years. In accompany with being a fantastic piece of music(I can’t stop listening to it), it’s an intelligent marketing strategy.

2. Anna Netrebko Live at The Met CD

If anything, Anna Netrebko has been deserving of her own Metopera CD for a long time. This CD puts her greatest Met triumphs on one CD. It is well edited, and I love the applause at the end of each track. It emphasises that these were live performances. Spectacular, live performances.

3. La Fancuilla Del West Revived at The Met

I know that this production opened last year but the production ran through this year. I hate how this semi-heard work that premiered at the Met is so rarely revived. It was a big deal production this year… I appreciate that. I saw it, and thuroughly enjoyed every minute of it.

Happy Thanksgiving to all and to all a good night!

Opera Teen

Tell me what you think!

